Failure · Finding Myself · Grief & Loss · Happiness

Finding True Friends

b599227beb6af66f734ce4dd7ad0fac7

There’s no right way to define what a ‘true friend’ is, everyone has different definitions. To me a true friend is someone you can trust and who will support you through anything. Friends are supposed to be there through thick and thin. Friends are like snowflakes, each one is unique and can’t be replaced. Every friendship is different.

The year 2015 was the year of losing friends for me and finding out who my true friends are. I’ve always had really strong attachments to my friends, and when they leave it hurts. As 2015 started I seemed to be having ups and downs with friends of mine. This eventually lead to a fall out with those friends, with this brought a lot of emotions and feeling depressed again. So I started seeing my counsellor at school again. A friend of mine in my classes was really supportive during this time, but that friend soon left too and got tired of helping me and seeing no change. I struggled with that loss too, I seemed to be losing a lot of friends, which took a toll on me and my mental health.

Slowly, school came to an end, and graduation was fast approaching. With graduation coming and my friends leaving, I tried to stay close to a friend who I knew was staying in town. I tried my hardest to hold onto this friend, and constantly asking them to spend time with them. Which in turned pushed them further away. With this person always being busy it was hard to find time to get together, I would see them out with other friends or working. I took them being busy more personal than I should have.

Things went downhill fast, it slowly turned into fighting and things being said that we couldn’t take back. This friend got their significant other involved and things got worse fast. Despite this friend asking for space, I tried relentlessly to hold onto this friendship. When holding on didn’t work, eventually my pain turned to anger towards them. I tried everything to get attention from them whether good or bad. Which was seen again as harassment, so when police got involved I had no choice but to let go.

Even though I lost a friend of 8 years in the midst of everything because she didn’t like who I was becoming or the situation with my other friend that was going on. I wasn’t going down the messy road of another fallout again. So I let her go to, I pretended to be okay when everything was falling apart.

Letting go was one of the best things I’ve done for myself. It allowed me to move on, be happy, find new friends and make time for old friends. Most importantly, it allowed me to find my true friends. So that’s what I did.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Finding True Friends

  1. It’s so important to find true friends in life. It can definitely be a difficult and devastating journey, but once you have those few true friends, that’s all that matters.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like im going through this right now, and i’m feeling indifferent about everything. Im just going to let go as well and stop trying, i have no more energy for it.

    Like

  3. I have had this happen to me too, and it truly does bring out the true colors in people as well as show you who your real friends are. Sometimes life pulls someone one way and another person another, and when that happens sometimes the best thing to do is to let go – because there might be something better for you up ahead that you don’t know about as yet.
    Thank you for sharing your experience and showing other’s that letting go is sometimes the right course of action to take.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's discuss this.

