Difficult Decisions · Mental Health · School · Stress · Stressful Situations · Student

Am I home sick or is it stress?

Coming back to school after the winter break has been especially hard for me. I don’t really know 100% why but it has been tough trying to get back into the groove of things. I have always been a person who loves school and learning, but lately I always find myself asking why am I here and is this what I really want to be doing. When truth be told I just want to be home with my family. I have always found myself to get home sick, and living away from home hasn’t really been easy for me. Trying to deal with new roommate and trying to get comfortable somewhere that just doesn’t feel like home. Let me tell you it sucks. I’ve never really been a person who makes friends easily, and it’s not because I’m mean or cocky or anything, but more that I am an extreme introvert and unless someone full out makes the attempt to talk to me I’ll just keep to myself. Out of my three years at university so far, I find that returning to school now has been the hardest and most stressful time yet. I find it hard for myself to pay attention and stay focused because all I want to do is be home with my family. My family and I have tried to see if me commuting every day would be worth it, but it is not. I live far and I actually would spend double the amount of time commuting, than the time I would spend in class, so that was out of the question. So it was either live in Oshawa or switch Universities, yet I do love this school and don’t want to change. So it is as if I am having a tug-a-war with myself and its draining me so much that I just don’t have any energy left for school. On top of it I am always stressed, I’m talking stressed about things that there should be no reason to be stressed over. So between the wanting to be home and the stressing over my school work and just school in general, it is as if I have come to a fork in the road and cannot decide which way to go if any, or if I should just turn around. My parents have asked me if I would like to take the rest of the year off or if I need a break, but the issue is I don’t know what I want. I don’t know if I am just going through a phase of feeling alone and actually missing home, or if the stress and exhaustion that school puts on me is doing this.

All this to say that I guess I am only to take it one day at a time, because how am I to make a decision if I don’t actually know what I want?
If you guys have any tips on being home sick or stressed please share 🙂

485117_1056338107750386_5648858581520958105_n.

2 thoughts on “Am I home sick or is it stress?

  1. I agree with you in that it’s important to take it one day at time. I often get home sick and to help deal with this I simple call or message my mom frequently. She always knows what to say to cheer me up and even just giving her a quick update on my life makes me feel a little better.

    Like

  2. I think this was one of the reasons I stayed at UOIT – I live in Oshawa and was afraid to leave home! I am similar to you in the sense that I am also quite introverted, I go to class and then leave, and pretty much never talk to anyone besides class discussions. I just want to let you know, I did find a lot of campus clubs that are available, ones I didn’t even know existed at UOIT! If you have any hobbies, I would look into the clubs (just google clubs at UOIT) and see if you’d be interested in joining one! I bet you could meet people that way, I know it will be difficult and you may be nervous getting there, but if I could go back in time and find this information earlier, I would have tried. I wasted my 5 years at UOIT too shy to meet people as well, I understand the feeling and I truly regret not stepping out of my comfort zone a bit more. We all feel stressed at university, but please know you are not alone! My advice would be to look into what UOIT has to offer in terms of recreational activities, because I soo wish I did. I’m graduating in June so I’ve found the information a bit too late, but maybe it can help you 🙂

    Like

Let's discuss this.

