Stress

Where it all started

*Trigger warning*

I’ll start with some boring background information on how it all started.

My childhood was for the most part normal, I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis at a young age which made my childhood a little bit different but not much. I didn’t let my disease define me. My parents fought and eventually got divorced, I was too young to remember this. My sister however has more of a vivid memory of it than I do.With that we moved away from Toronto to Kawartha Lakes. This is where my mom met my step dad. Overall, I had a pretty normal upbringing and would say I have a good relationship with my family, with the exception of my younger brother. My younger brother and I have not had a healthy relationship for as long as I can remember. He’s like the typical bratty teenage brother who thinks he’s always right and has rude come backs for everything. I try to tell myself that he’ll grow out of it.

I never had many friends, growing up I was the “outcast”, having 1 or 2 good friends.

High school rolled around and with that I met a more stable group of friends. Being a teenager isn’t easy and most of us don’t even know who we are at that point, add on mental health issues and it makes the teenage years even harder. It wasn’t until I was 15 or 16 years old that I realized I was “different”. A lot of my friends during this time were discovering their own mental health and I noticed they were resorting to self-harm. During this time I was facing relationship problems with my on-again-off-again boyfriend of 3 years. This made me depressed and down at times, so I decided to do what my friends were doing and resorted to self-harming in hopes of this helping what I was going through. Self-harming slowly became thoughts of suicide as time progressed, none of which I ever thought I would act upon.

Stay tuned my fellow bloggers,

Montie93

4 thoughts on “Where it all started

    1. Thanks! I appreciate it. I dont think this piece was my best, my next is better. But I tried to leave it on a cliff hanger so people continue to read. Just hoping that through my stories I can help other people in similar situations see the light at the end of the tunnel.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's discuss this.

