Mental Health · Stress · Student · The Future · Tips for Friends

Time to get back on track

To say the last month has been a whirlwind would be a severe understatement. Having submitted my law school application (!!!!), I can finally sit back and relax to some extent. However, the last month I haven’t been taking care of myself mentally or physically.

I haven’t been following my prescribed nutritional plan because it’s so much easier to pick up a piece of pizza than cook a full meal, and a healthy one at that. Usually I’m in the gym five days a week, but I haven’t been in nearly a week. I also haven’t been taking the time to care for myself mentally – I’ve been letting everything pile up, not engaging in self care, and not opening up to my friends about my feelings as much as I should be.

That being said, I’ve been able to recognize that it’s time to get back on track. Taking a break was something I needed; pushing myself beyond my limits would have just made everything worse. But now that things are a tiny bit less hectic, I’m excited to work towards feeling better mentally and physically. There’s no sense in being hard on myself because I’m only human, and sometimes we all need to take a step back and do what makes us okay in that moment – and if that includes eating 15 mini Kit-Kats while I write a paper, so be it!

What I think is most important is not being hard on myself – it’s so easy to beat yourself up for eating that chocolate, or for not going to the gym when you know you probably should have. That being said, sometimes it’s a struggle to do the things you should, and as long as I get back to where I need to be, I’m not going to make things harder on myself.

Plus…that chocolate was totally worth it!

3 thoughts on “Time to get back on track

  1. Thank you for sharing, I know I have felt this way in the past and it was hard to get back on track, but you can do it! Good luck with the application- I am sure you will get in

    Like

  2. Congrats on finally finishing your law school application!!! I know that’s a huge weight off your shoulders. It’s great that you are able to recognize when you’ve gotten off the track aligned with your goals, and even better that you are ready to get on that track! Taking breaks are a good thing, but it’s hard to go back afterwards. I’m sure you will be able to get back on track soon and wish you all the best when doing so!

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing! I know we all feel this way from time to time about trying to get back on track! I bet you will do a great job with your goals especially now that you have recognized what they are! Congrats on your law school application! You will do great!

    Like

Let's discuss this.

