School · Student · Tips for Friends

Multiple Choice Midterms/Exams

As midterms are here and finals are quickly creeping up, the stress of studying increases for everyone. I am a second year business student so a lot of my midterms are multiple choice, which I hate. For me multiple choice is the worst way for me to be tested as I always second guess myself and overthink the choices. Multiple choice tests always stress me out and I worry about them a lot. I find that there are lots of other students that I talk to that think multiple choice is difficult too, so I came up with some tips to answering multiple choice;

  • Read the question before you look at the answer.
  • Come up with the answer in your head before looking at the possible answers, this way the choices given on the test won’t throw you off or trick you.
  • Eliminate answers you know aren’t right.
  • Read all the choices before choosing your answer.
  • If there is no guessing penalty, always take an educated guess and select an answer.
  • Don’t keep on changing your answer, usually your first choice is the right one, unless you misread the question.
  • In “All of the above” and “None of the above” choices, if you are certain one of the statements is true don’t choose “None of the above” or one of the statements are false don’t choose “All of the above”.
  • In a question with an “All of the above” choice, if you see that at least two correct statements, then “All of the above” is probably the answer.
  • A positive choice is more likely to be true than a negative one.
  • Usually the correct answer is the choice with the most information.

These are the best tips for multiple choice questions. Most importantly, if you don’t do as good as you thought you would on the test don’t stress about it. Grades are important but they aren’t the only thing that matters. I used to get so worked up and stressed if I got a mark below a 70, but now I know that if I do get a low mark, I know that I need to study even harder for the next one. As long as you’re trying and working hard and studying, the grades you’re aiming for will come. Remember that if you are having problems with understanding concepts, we have a lot of great resources at our school that can help! PASS sessions, peer tutors, teacher office hours and more!

Study hard this midterm/exam season and remember these tips when writing multiple choice tests! Work hard and the outcome you’re aiming for will happen!

4 thoughts on “Multiple Choice Midterms/Exams

  1. These are great tips! I definitely have to study differently for multiple choice exams than for written ones. I love multiple choice exams, but they definitely can be challenging if you aren’t certain with your answers. Good luck with all your finals! I’m sure if you follow your own tips they will be a little easier 🙂

    Like

Let's discuss this.

