School · Sleep · Stress · Student

The Never Ending Exhaustion

Despite getting at least 7 hours of sleep each night, I have been exhausted every day for the past 2 or 3 weeks. No matter how much I sleep or relax, I am in a constant state of both physical and mental exhaustion. I wake up tired most days and struggle to get myself out of bed, often setting a later alarm once I have been woke up by the one I initially set the night before. On the few days I wake up feeling energized and ready to go, I’m ready to go back to bed after 3 hours of being awake.

Since high school I have been a frequent napper. During the school year it’s a little harder to schedule in naps, as I’m out all day and to be honest the chairs and sofas at school aren’t very comfortable, especially for napping on. When I finally get home, I’m ready to pass out. But that’s not the option most nights. Dinner needs to be eaten, I need to shower and dry my hair, and most importantly there are midterms to study for and assignments to complete.

Almost every night this week I have got home, showered, ate dinner, and then attempted to study for a few hours. When I am tired I cannot concentrate on homework at all. I will read the same thing 3 times and still have no idea what it was even about. I also fall asleep studying quite frequently. I will usually nap first to make sure this doesn’t happen, but when it’s already 8 or 9 pm I know a nap isn’t an option – if I try to nap this late, I will be asleep for the whole night. So what really happens is I go to bed early, deciding I will just wake up a little earlier the next morning and study before I have to leave for class/work. Most people can agree that when you make this decision, to wake up early and get things done, you’ve already lost. In the morning, your alarm will go off and you will go back asleep until you actually have to get up in order to leave on time. I’m guilty of this.

I don’t really know what is causing me to be so exhausted each and every day, but if I had to guess I would say it’s life. Having to balance everything is a lot of work, and there are typically more things to balance during this time of the semester. Next week alone, I have 3 papers due all worth between 15-40% of my final marks, and am writing my GRE test, which I have barely even studied for yet. I wish I could say being a procrastinator was my excuse for not having started or even finished any of these assignments earlier, but I can’t. I’m a very organized student and like to start working on assignments as soon as possible. But this year hasn’t allowed it – it’s been to hectic.

I know that I am not the only student constantly feeling exhausted and overwhelmed, and that is why I wrote this. I know that someone out there is dealing with the same amount of stress and pressure as me, if not more. I know that I will power through it all, and everything will be okay. I might have to make myself pull an all-nighter or two to get all my papers done on time, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

Sacrifices must be made and unfortunately, this time around the sacrifice is my sleep.

4 thoughts on “The Never Ending Exhaustion

  1. Hi A, I sleep around 6-7 each night and, like you, I am constantly tired. Uni does it to you. I am looking forward to this semester ending.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing, I used to be really tired all the time and the only things that would fix it was eating and getting a nap. I went to the doctors to find out I have low blood sugar and slightly low iron levels, have you tried going to a doctor? They might be able to help.

    Like

  3. This was a great read. I totally understand how you’re feeling. I always try to balance work, school, friends, family etc. And my sleep is always what suffers most. And you’re right, sacrifices have to be made, I feel the same way. It really helps to hear that other students are going through the same thing.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your story because like you said a lot of people are struggling through the same thing now. Deadlines are approaching, exams are not far behind and I still have midterms. I always feel like it is an uphill battle between managing school, my family and sleep, I don’t even have time for a social life. What gets me through is knowing that the end of the semester is approaching and we will be off for 3 weeks. And sometimes when that fails I try and remember it will pay off….eventually.

    But thanks again for sharing 🙂

    Like

Let's discuss this.

