Opt Ed · Student · UOIT Mental Health Services

The Truth About Procrastination

Crap…

You look at the clock and it’s 7:14 PM two days before your paper is due. All you have written down is the bullet points from the proposal you had to write a month ago. When you should have been reading articles and researching for your paper you were binge-watching Sherlock (for the umpteenth time) on Netflix. But hey Sherlock is a genius so maybe we could absorb some of his brilliance and write that paper.

No such luck.

Next thing you know weeks have gone by and that paper hasn’t progressed past the initial page.

We have all been there.

There’s nothing worse then putting off doing something only to pull a couple all-nighters to finish a semi-competent assignment. When your mark comes back you are surprised to see that you did a better job on the 2-day paper then the last paper that you actually spend two weeks on.

So maybe procrastination isn’t too bad (except for the stress, the distractions, the exhaustion of the all-nighter, and the putting things off until the last possible moment).

And you know however much you may try there is always something else more important then starting on that paper.

But next time you have to choose between re-watching Scandal and reading an article for your paper, try remembering how you felt during crunch-time.

Reward yourself! Read an article or write a paragraph ahead of time and then watch an episode. It’s worth it to set aside a little bit of study time everyday and rewarding yourself with something fun to take away the stress.

*SterlingViolet

4 thoughts on “The Truth About Procrastination

  1. I just finished my paper. It’s 4:30 am, Thursday morning, worked on it all night, noy my best work for sure. I know a lot about procrastination

    Like

  2. My story: I have my goals, have-to-dos. Ambitious, cause I want to go places. For the inhave-to-dos, I usually end up waiting until the last minute, panicking, and then either doing less than my best work or shutting down and not doing anything at all. I’ll either start one and quit or more likely, I just won’t ever get around to it. I seem to always underperform. I think I’m smart and able and could be far more successful, but I seem always behind or doing a bare minimum

    Like

Let's discuss this.

