Asperger · Autism · Student

Resiliency

Resiliency

One thing’s for certain: nothing is ever certain. No matter how many times I acknowledge this fact, the uncertainty of life, certainly impacts my daily life and sometimes causes moments of deep pain. Expectations versus reality are perpetually in tension as I go about my day, often ranging from the most mundane to the most traumatic and always leaving me battling it out at various times. Life is hard, that is for sure, and being a student adds a whole other layer of complexity, but it also is very predictable, structured, and certain. I know what I need to do each day, what is expected of me, and even know all the assignments I’ll be doing months in advance; I like that feeling because it is secure. Other aspects of school aren’t so comforting and when am stressed, I believe my perseverance to see it through the hard times, has shaped me to be the more resilient person I am today. I am not the type of person to give up easily because I desperately want to feel better and to be happy.

I can say that I’m a resilient person because I am still here; I am still breathing and living. There are ‘countless’ times in which I’ve wanted to give up and stop trying, but thankfully there are more times in which I chose to face issues, rather than ignore them. I have to admit, however, that often I feel thrust into facing life’s challenges because I am so sensitive to my surroundings. I have Asperger’s Syndrome, it is on the autism spectrum and it affects my daily life. Being an ‘Aspie’ is often too over-stimulating, as sensory inputs such as lights and sounds that don’t bother others, often cause me intense distress and anxiety. Being in class and having to interact with others of often quite stressful. I am also a very sensitive person when it comes to emotions and change, as I often don’t know how to deal with them in the moment and I sometimes panic; over time and in the past, this has caused me to become depressed and it used to be a challenge to even get out of my bed. One thing that helps me overcome the feeling of being so overwhelmed is following a schedule and making lists. I feel reassured when I know what to expect for each day and this gives some degree of certainty and predictability.

As I finish my program here at UOIT and move towards graduating… I am filled with joy and grief. Joy, because I know I have accomplished my academic goal, but sad about the change and having to move on into the unknown. I try not to let my thoughts overwhelm me, but I have to say that I am really struggling to keep it together. I know with time, things won’t feel so new and I’ll move onto other things, but for now… I am just trying to live my day, one step at a time.

9 thoughts on “Resiliency

  1. Thanks for the post.

    One thing I enjoy about this type of interaction is the ability to learn and see things from different perspectives.
    I’d enjoy hearing about how you learned to cope and built up your resiliency over the years, after exams are done though.

    You are the official first post, and we are adding new people, so I encourage you to post about whatever you’d like.

    Thank-you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m honoured to be a part of this and it’s special to be the first post. Good luck with your exams! I’d love to share more with you once you’re done.

      Like

  2. I’m an employee here and I enjoyed reading your post. It is always good to learn about how students are coping with various issues. I have heard about Asperberger’s (spelling??) but this post helped me understand it better – from a real person’s perspective. Good luck with your future and it sounds like you have the right attitude to do really well with your new adventures. All the best to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One thing about resiliency is the ability to have and maintain a routine. As the school year ends, this valuable routine will change. It may help to plan a routine ahead of time, even if it is one or two things that are certain each day. I also noticed how you pointed out your sensitivities and sometimes finding a noise that brings comfort becomes important as it can drown out offending noises. Is there a type of music that you enjoy? Or white noise like a fan? These are things that you can take with you wherever you go.

    It sounds like you have a lot of self insights and have achieved your academic goal so far. That is awesome! Please keep us posted. I would like to hear more about your progress during this upcoming change. All the very best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joli, thank you for your kindness. I really like your idea about keeping constants in each day, and especially now as so many other variables are changing. I’ve strategized about my exit from UOIT and with the help of others, who have provided lots of care and support during my time here. I’m disengaging from key things as slowly as possible. For example, I finished yesterday, but won’t be leaving Oshawa until next week. Too many changes too suddenly is very debilitating and I’ve learned that I can be more resilient if I take major changes slower and spread out their intensity.

      I’ve been using noise-cancelling headphones and I highly recommend them too. I also always carry a pair of sunglasses.

      I would be more than pleased to give updates along the way. I already feel encouraged by this blog and thanks again for your comments!

      Like

Let's discuss this.

